Decoding the Subtext

Decoding the Subtext is a series of essays which examine each of the Sherlock Holmes stories for homoerotic subtext. Here, the author suggests Holmes and Watson were more than mere friends, and attempts to prove this theory by examining the sub-textual evidence contained within the Canon.

It should be noted this series was written while reading Baring-Gould’s annotated Sherlock Holmes. As such, the stories have been examined in the order suggested by Baring-Gould’s chronology. I would recommend those new to Sherlock Holmes first read Canon in publication order. Baring-Gould’s dates, as well as publication dates, have been noted.

The Complete Decoding the Subtext (pdf)

The Gloria Scott
The Musgrave Ritual
A Study in Scarlet
The Speckled Band
The Resident Patient
The Noble Bachelor
The Second Stain
The Reigate Squires
A Scandal in Bohemia
The Man with the Twisted Lip
The Five Orange Pips
A Case of Identity
The Red-Headed League
The Dying Detective
The Blue Carbuncle
The Valley of Fear
The Yellow Face
The Greek Interpreter
The Sign of The Four
The Hound of the Baskervilles
The Copper Beeches
The Boscombe Valley Mystery
The Stockbroker’s Clerk
The Naval Treaty
The Cardboard Box
The Engineer’s Thumb
The Crooked Man
Wisteria Lodge
Silver Blaze
The Beryl Coronet
The Final Problem
The Empty House
The Golden Pince-Nez
The Three Students
The Solitary Cyclist
Black Peter
The Norwood Builder
The Bruce Partington Plans
The Veiled Lodger
The Sussex Vampire
The Missing Three-Quarter
The Abbey Grange
The Devil’s Foot
The Dancing Men
The Retired Colourman
Charles Augustus Milverton
The Six Napoleons
Thor Bridge
The Priory School
Shoscombe Old Place
The Three Garridebs
Lady Frances Carfax
The Illustrious Client
The Red Circle
The Blanched Soldier
The Three Gables
The Mazarin Stone
The Creeping Man
The Lion’s Mane
His Last Bow